Blog #2

The title of the book I will be writing about today is called the kissing hand, by Audrey Penn. This book I have chosen is very sentimental to me as my mom use to read this to me as a little girl. This book was also one of the first books I learned to read. Kissing hand is a fable, it’s a fable because its fictional. The story is also short and is symbolic.
Kissing hand is about a mother and son raccoon, Chester is starting school and is very scared for the change, he wants to stay at home with his mother where he is comfortable. His mother ensures him he is going to love night school and will learn many new things. Chester didn’t agree with his mother, so his mother took him by the hand and kissed the middle of his palm, she said if you miss me put your hand to your cheek and you will always have a kiss from me where ever you go. Chester went to school that night and before he walked in he also kissed his mother on the hand and told her, she will always have a kiss from him. Now Chester and his mother have a kissing hand.
The moral of the story is that it is always scary to go outside of your comfort zone and try new things, but you can always think of something or do something that will help you feel like you’re in your comfort zone when your scared

Leave a comment